RIP Thomas Christopher Murphy June 6, 1943 to July 16, 2010

I love you, Murphy.  Losing my father was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to endure.  Even though we all know it will happen and that it is… in a way… a “right of passage” it does not make it any easier. Your father was much too young and we all know cancer sucks but please be thankful for his life and what it meant to you.  I know I am very thankful for his life because without him, I would not have you.  I am thankful for him for giving us your beautiful daughters.  I am thankful for him because without him PUMA PAC would not exist.  I did not know him but I love him.  We are family, Murphy.  If there is anything you need just let me know.

5 Responses

  1. My sympathies he obviously was a compassionate man because his daughter is…
    Brightest of Blessings Ms. Matthews

  2. Thank you T. When junior and I were volunteering for the Hillary campaign he wanted to know every last detail. When she came to the headquarters in Boston, junior and I were there — my daughter was given the job of taking care of the press and checking their credentials, and of course Papa sneaked in with his big camera to be there with us. Junior gave him a pass and he got some great pictures, including one of Hillary signing an autograph for me. He always wanted to be a part of whatever we were doing.

    It was his idea to drive down to DC for the RBC meeting on May 30. It was me, him, my 3 girls and my niece — all the women of the family. We drove the MVOD like a bat out of hell. I had a pass into the meetings and he took the kids to the zoo and checked in on everything via the tv’s in the hotel lobby. He was devastated when they took away Hillary’s delegates and sealed the deal for obama.

    It was on the ride home from DC with him that I decided my life should be more meaningful and that we needed to do something about what happened to Hillary– and that I would start Puma PAC.

    I’m 41 years old, have three children, and have led a pretty rich life, but I’ve never had a broken heart.

    Now I do.

    Thank you so much for posting this on your page.

    — Murphy.

  3. Oh Murphy, I am so sorry. He sounds like such an amazing man, person, father, grandfather, friend. I wish I had known him but in a way I feel as though I do. He has been a true inspiration to you and as a result he has been an inspiration to many. I would love to see those pics someday. I’d love to just sit with you and listen to stories about your Dad. When My Dad died for some reason every thought that went through my mind I wanted to share with him. He and I never really talked that much but once he was gone I wanted to share everything with him. I am so thankful for you and your father. My only advise is to just grieve. The grieving process is so personal. You need to mourn and you need to grieve. I am here for you, Murphy…any time…day or night. I love you.

  4. Murphy
    I didn’t know your Dad, I hardly know you, but our paths have crossed on June 3rd, when I became a member of Puma.In those early days, when you first started Puma, and i was so very inept with the computer, it was you and you personally who helped me register and got me to blog and for the first time, speak out of the injustices that the DNC was doing to one of it’s own. You made me realize I had found my voice and you had given me a place to use it.
    I too had a Father who lit up my world and gave me not only what was necessary to get on in this chaotic world, but also the love and respect to understand that I was capable of doing whatever it took to make this life of mine a useful one.
    And now you say your heart is broken, but Murphy it’s a wounded heart, not broken and it will take a long time for it to heal..but the more you keep him in your life and the more you share with him, the more you realize how comforting it is to know he’s there looking after you and your girls.
    May he rest in peace now and be free of pain.

  5. What a beautiful tribute to what clearly is an amazing human being. He lives on through all those he knew him….and as is the case here, he is impacting the lives of those he never met. As the post says, even though we know this day will come – it doesn’t make it any easier when it arrives.

    I wish love, peace & many happy memories to Murphy and her family.

Leave a Reply

