In memory of Michael Sydney Mitchell killed in action. Viet Nam

TombUnknown1Michael Sydney Mitchell was my older sister’s fiance.  They were high school sweethearts and they were going to get married.  He didn’t have to go.  He was the “only son” but he wanted to go.  He had surfer hair.  I’m really not sure why he wanted to go so badly but none of us wanted him to go.  He came over to say good-bye to us all the night before he had to leave.  My youngest sister told him “don’t go and get yourself killed”.  She still rues the day.

My sister was best friends with Marsha Mitchell, Michael’s sister so his death was doubly hard.  I will never forget the day we got the phone call.  It was at my Mother’s house and they both were there.  I remember it like it was yesterday.

Michael stepped on a land mine July 10, 1967 and he was buried on July 18th, 1967.  Today was the first time I have visited his grave.   I love you, Michael.  RIP

6 Responses

  1. как говориться, Без пользы жить – безвременная смерть.

  2. Thank you so much Michael for fighting for my freedom, for my constitutional rights and for others around the world.

  3. Thanks, Simo and Avertedd. He was a good guy and my sister’s life will never be what it could have been.

  4. Thank You for sharing this.
    It is a reminder to all of us; for whom & what we must stand up for!
    THANK YOU MICHAEL, RIP.

  5. Michael is a hero and so he is with G-d. Bless you and your family and all those lost in this crazy humanity.

  6. Hey You, I was wondering why you asked. It’s nice to see you here.

Leave a Reply

